Lifestream Home Lifestream Blog The God Journey (podcast) Finding Church Contact Wayne's Books

Sharing the Frustrations that turned to Joy

One of the points this chapter makes is that the awakening of our hearts to God’s reality might first be seen in the frustrations we have with God. Because we want to fit him into a system and he cannot be contained there it often looks as if he’s ignoring us, or at least not honoring our efforts. What frustration did you have, that you later recognized was a gift that turned your heart in a new direction?

I’ll start. When I was a pastor, I was frustrated that our programs never achieve the level of fruitfulness we hoped for. No matter how much we tweaked them or how much effort we put in them they never produced the results we hoped for. I spent many years frustrated that God wouldn’t reward our efforts and only later came to realize that our efforts couldn’t achieve the fruit we hoped for. God was bringing me to the end of my own efforts, so I could embrace his working but not seeing that at the time I was frustrated that he wasn’t doing enough for me.

And it’s OK to share some frustrations that haven’t become joy yet, because others might know what joy it may well lead to when you get a bit further down the road.